Posted by: Caleb | March 4, 2011

the shield that guards the realms of men

So, this is a post about something that I’m really excited for.

In fact, I’m not sure I’ve been this excited for the release of anything since…well, ever. But first, a little background.

I first started reading George R. R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones somewhere in the neighborhood of 2004. I read the first four chapters without putting it down (which, if you’ve ready any of the Song of Ice and Fire books, you know is nothing small) and I was instantly hooked. These books are probably the best fantasy fiction of my admittedly limited experience.

After reading A Game of Thrones in less than a week, I quickly moved on to A Clash of Kings, and then just as quickly to A Storm of Swords, which each equally enthralled me. I’m telling you, if you like fantasy at all, then consider giving this series a try. (See disclaimer at the end of this post, please!!!)

After this, I had to wait for A Feast for Crows, released in 2005, shortly after I got married. I read it in a matter of days, and then I had nothing left to read. According to the author, the next book would be released in spring/summer 2006. Then, it turned into “by the end of the year”. Then, it became “spring 2007”. And, to make a long story short, here’s what I’m excited about:

July 12, 2011.

A Dance With Dragons finally, after over 5 years of waiting, is coming to my friendly neighborhood bookstore.

Has anybody else read this series? How excited are you? Sound off in the comments!

**Disclaimer: This series is VERY GRAPHIC!! If you’re offended by graphic language, violence, and/or sexual content, then THESE BOOKS ARE NOT FOR YOU. It’s a “mature” story, and is therefore intended for a “mature” audience. Consider yourselves warned.**

Responses

  1. I think I started reading these right about the same time you did. And ran out of material to read just as fast!

    but oh man, this has been a long time coming. And I don’t know if I want to read 4000 pages to catch up. I feel like such a spoil sport!

    regardless, I’m sure the HBO series will get me all excited all over again, and I’ll be reading Martin like a madwoman all summer.

  2. I know! I’m pretty excited about the series, too, but I’m also a little apprehensive. I’m afraid it could ruin the Westeros in my head.

    I know a lot of people are giving GRRM a lot of grief about taking so long to get it right, but I really don’t have a problem with it. If he didn’t, I’d be afraid of getting something like the last three Dark Tower books.


Leave a Reply

Categories

