Posted by: Caleb | March 16, 2011

a time to fight?

Dave Glover, a talk radio host here in St. Louis, was talking about this YouTube video today on the radio. As the story goes, the skinny kid is a bully, and constantly picks on the chubbier kid.

I couldn’t help but think about what I would do if Noah or Eli were the bullied kid, and they did this to someone.

I’ve always thought that if my sons got in a fight, I wouldn’t punish them simply for fighting. They will know that there are times when fighting is appropriate; however, even more importantly, they will know that there are times when fighting is definitely not appropriate. If they beat a kid at school for the wrong reason, they’ll know that the school’s punishment won’t hold a candle to what they’ll get when they get home.

If they beat a kid because they’re defending themselves or someone else, they will not be punished at home.

For those of you with school-age kids, is it that simple? If it’s your kid, what do you do? Is there an appropriate time for violence?

Sound off in the comments!

[update] The YouTube video has been deleted since I originally posted this. The video was about 3 minutes long, and for about a minute, a little skinny kid is walking around a larger kid. He’s pushing him, and after a minute, he punches the bigger kid in the face, and a few times in the gut. You can see the bigger kid is embarrassed, and he starts getting upset, and finally, he picks up the bully and slams him to the ground. It was pretty violent, and the bully gets up and is obviously hurt.

Responses

  1. I totally agree with you, Caleb! My kids are allowed to defend themselves. My older son was being kicked by a much younger kid one time. He told me about it after the fact. I asked him what he did. He said after the third kick, he punched the little kid and knocked him down. I congratulated him and told him I was proud of him. Almost every time I was bullied in school, I fought back and one. Most bullies are wimps when challenged. I will not allow my children to be terrorized by wimps, or anyone else for that matter. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

